Some links on our site may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.
Published October 27, 2026. Prices and specs checked October 18, 2026.
Yes, a Leatherman multitool is worth roughly double a Gerber if it will ride on your belt for years. The Leatherman Wave Plus at $129.95 costs almost exactly twice the Gerber Truss at $64.99, and Leatherman’s page says its features lock and its tools open with one hand. For a glovebox, the Gerber Suspension-NXT at $54.99 does the job for less than half the price. The gap sits in blade access and warranty terms, with tool count nearly even at 18 and 17.
I carried a multitool for years on boats around the Florida Keys and through Midwest farm summers, and the pliers did almost every job. The knife came second, and the saw stayed folded. That is why pliers come first in this comparison. The same hands-first thinking runs through our camp light loadout.
- Best for years of belt carry: Leatherman Wave Plus, $129.95, 18 tools, 8.5 oz
- Best Gerber for the money: Gerber Truss, $64.99, 17 tools, 8.4 oz
- Lightest pocket carry: Leatherman Skeletool, $89.95, 7 tools, 5 oz
- Cheapest pliers that fold: Gerber Suspension-NXT, $54.99, 15 tools, 6.7 oz
Which Leatherman or Gerber Model Fits Which Job?
| Model | Maker store price | Tools listed | Weight | Locking per maker page | One-hand blade per maker page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Leatherman Wave Plus | $129.95 | 18 | 8.5 oz | Every feature but the pliers | Page says tools open with one hand |
| Leatherman Rebar | $99.95 | 17 | 6.7 oz | Every feature but the pliers | Not stated on page |
| Leatherman Skeletool | $89.95 | 7 | 5 oz | Blade lock listed | Page says features open with one hand |
| Gerber Truss | $64.99 | 17 | 8.4 oz | “All locking tools” | Not stated on page |
| Gerber Suspension-NXT | $54.99 | 15 | 6.7 oz | “All locking tools” | Not stated on page |
| Gerber Center-Drive | $154.99 | 14 | 9.5 oz | Tool lock listed, blade lock not stated | Page says open with one hand |
Prices come from each maker’s own store, read October 18, 2026. Those are Leatherman’s pages for three models and Gerber’s store pages for the other three. REI lists the Wave Plus and Rebar at the same prices and the Truss and Suspension-NXT at $64.95 and $54.95. Stock differs by seller. Gerber’s store showed each model in stock. REI showed sold-out colors with pre-order, and Walmart’s Suspension-NXT listing read out of stock.
Do Multitool Pliers Wobble, and How Do You Check?
Some do, and no maker’s spec page measures it, so the check is yours in the first five minutes. Open the pliers and bring the jaw tips together. They should meet squarely with no daylight at the tips. Then hold one handle still and rock the other side to side, because play at the pivot shows up there.

REI’s Wave Plus page carries 80 reviews averaging 4.8 stars. A single two-star review from three years ago questions how tight the fittings looked and mentions grit in the oil on the jaws. That is one buyer’s report on one tool, not a measurement, and it is the only fit complaint on the page.
However, the makers build the pliers differently. Gerber’s Truss, Suspension-NXT and Center-Drive pages all list spring-loaded needlenose pliers, so the jaws reopen on their own between squeezes. Leatherman’s Wave Plus, Rebar and Skeletool pages do not mention a spring. They list replaceable wire cutters on the Wave Plus and Rebar. Gerber’s Center-Drive also lists rotatable carbide wire cutters. Because both makers allow 30-day returns on their own stores, that window is the time to do the wiggle test.
Can One Hand Open the Multitool Blade?
On the Wave Plus and the Skeletool, Leatherman’s pages say yes. The Wave Plus page says the tools open with one hand. A REI reviewer praises reaching the blades without opening the pliers. The Skeletool page says to open and use features with one hand.
However, the Rebar is the exception among the Leatherman models. Its page says you reach the tools with the pliers open. One reviewer on that page wishes the knife opened “without unfolding everything.” Going by that review, the knife is a two-handed job.
Meanwhile, Gerber’s Center-Drive page promises an open-with-one-hand design and a one-thumb opening system. Still, the Truss and Suspension-NXT pages are silent on the point. They show a butterfly opening icon, a handle design where the two halves swing apart around the pliers. One REI reviewer says the Suspension-NXT opens with one hand after practice. Treat that as one buyer’s experience, not a spec.
Which Multitool Blades Lock Open?
The Wave Plus and Rebar pages both say every feature except the plier head locks into place. The Skeletool page lists a blade lock. REI’s Truss and Suspension-NXT listings both say locking blade. Gerber’s own pages say “all locking tools.” The Center-Drive page shows a tool lock in its diagram but does not say the blade locks. Confirm that before buying it as a gift.
A lock only helps if you can release it. One reviewer on Leatherman’s Rebar page calls the blade lock too hard to press. That is a single comment, so it is worth a thumb test in the first week.

What Does Each Warranty Leave Out?
Both makers sell a long warranty, and both carve out exclusions that matter for a multitool. The matrix below comes from Leatherman’s warranty and returns pages and Gerber’s warranty, FAQ and Terms of Sale pages. I read them all on October 18, 2026.
| Term | Leatherman | Gerber |
|---|---|---|
| Name and length | 25-year warranty, counted from the date the user receives the tool | Gerber Guarantee: limited lifetime in North America, 25 years elsewhere |
| Who is covered | Original or primary owner, personal use, bought from an authorized dealer | Original end-user purchaser or giftee, bought from Gerber or an authorized reseller; not transferable |
| Remedy | Repair or replacement at Leatherman’s discretion | Repair, replacement, equal-value substitute or refund, at Gerber’s option |
| Rust and corrosion | Excluded | Not named, but “environmental factors” and improper storage are excluded |
| Sharpening | Excluded, except free on MagnaCut blades | Excluded |
| Wear | Normal wear and cosmetic wear excluded | Normal wear excluded, plus wear on black Teflon or oxide finishes |
| Parts and accessories | Sheaths and most accessories excluded | Parts, accessories and consumables such as spare blades excluded |
| Who pays shipping | You pay to send it in; Leatherman pays to ship it back | Warranty page says you may ship it at your cost and is silent on the return leg; Terms of Sale say Gerber covers reasonable return shipping when it asks to inspect |
| Turnaround | Repair form says 10 to 15 business days | Average response 7 to 10 business days, may run longer |
| Store return | 30 days, original packaging, refund less shipping each way | 30 days, new and unused, direct purchases only; FAQ says the buyer pays return shipping |
What Does the Wave Plus Warranty Cost Per Year?
The arithmetic on the Leatherman side is simple. The Wave Plus at $129.95 over 25 years works out to $5.20 a year ($129.95 divided by 25). That math holds only for the original owner. Leatherman’s page says the warranty covers only the original or primary owner. Gerber’s lifetime promise has no number to divide by, but it names a giftee, which matters in gift season. Leatherman’s page does not mention gifts.
Does the Warranty Cover Rust on a Boat?
Leatherman’s page says no. It excludes rust, oxidation and corrosion. The Wave Plus page lists a 420HC stainless blade and a 420 stainless frame, and the exclusion still applies. Gerber’s page does not name rust. It excludes environmental factors and improper storage, which is where a salt-air claim would land. Stainless steel slows corrosion without stopping it, so rinse and dry a multitool that rides on a boat.

Sharpening falls outside both warranties, so a dull blade is your cost. Leatherman’s free sharpening covers MagnaCut blades only, and none of the three Leatherman models here lists MagnaCut. To keep a blade useful, pair the tool with a knife sharpener that fits the way you work.
How Much Does Each Tool Weigh on Your Belt?
From 5 ounces to 9.5 ounces. That spread decides if the multitool stays on you. The Leatherman Skeletool is lightest at 5 ounces. Both the Rebar and the Gerber Suspension-NXT list 6.7. Next come the Truss at 8.4, the Wave Plus at 8.5 and the Center-Drive at 9.5.
The Rebar and Truss both list 17 tools, and the Rebar weighs 1.7 ounces less (8.4 minus 6.7). Weight decides where a tool rides, and a tool left in the truck does no work. For everything a multitool cannot do, a real box helps, and the guide to modular tool boxes covers that side.

Will a Multitool Pass the Airport Checkpoint?
No, not in a carry-on. The TSA multi-tools page says multi-tools with knives of any length are prohibited in carry-on bags. They go in checked bags, with sharp objects wrapped or covered. The officer at the checkpoint makes the final call. Every model here lists a knife blade, so all six go in checked luggage. That matters for a gift: a multitool packed in a carry-on is a multitool left at the checkpoint.

How Many Tools Per Dollar Does Each Multitool Give?
Dividing each maker-store price by the maker’s own tool count gives a rough measure of how much each dollar buys. The counts are the makers’ lists, and they count generously. Leatherman counts both bit drivers and both files on the Wave Plus. Gerber’s Center-Drive page says 14 tools while its diagram numbers 17 items.
| Model | Price | Tools listed | Dollars per tool | Tools per $100 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gerber Suspension-NXT | $54.99 | 15 | $54.99 / 15 = $3.67 | 27.3 |
| Gerber Truss | $64.99 | 17 | $64.99 / 17 = $3.82 | 26.2 |
| Leatherman Rebar | $99.95 | 17 | $99.95 / 17 = $5.88 | 17.0 |
| Leatherman Wave Plus | $129.95 | 18 | $129.95 / 18 = $7.22 | 13.9 |
| Gerber Center-Drive | $154.99 | 14 | $154.99 / 14 = $11.07 | 9.0 |
| Leatherman Skeletool | $89.95 | 7 | $89.95 / 7 = $12.85 | 7.8 |
The Wave Plus costs 1.89 times the Truss per tool ($7.22 divided by $3.82). Its sticker price is 2.0 times ($129.95 divided by $64.99). So the headline doubling is real, and the tool count does not close the gap. What you buy for the extra money is a different list. Both lists include pliers, a knife, a saw, scissors and a file. The Center-Drive page names no saw.

The Skeletool and Center-Drive rank last because each lists fewer tools, 7 and 14. Per-tool math rewards a long list of drivers and openers that most people never unfold. So I would not pay extra for a bigger count.
Which Multitool Survives Every Dealbreaker?
None survives all six, so here is what each dealbreaker leaves standing.
- Wobble: No spec page ranks it. Gerber’s spring-loaded pliers (Truss, Suspension-NXT, Center-Drive) are the only ones listed with a spring, and the wiggle test applies to all six.
- One-hand blade: Leatherman Wave Plus, Leatherman Skeletool and Gerber Center-Drive state it. The Rebar, Truss and Suspension-NXT pages do not.
- Locking: Wave Plus, Rebar, Skeletool, Truss and Suspension-NXT. The Center-Drive page does not say the blade locks.
- Warranty: Both makers exclude sharpening and normal wear. Leatherman excludes rust by name, and Gerber excludes environmental factors.
- Weight: Leatherman Skeletool at 5 ounces.
- Airport: None. Every model has a knife and belongs in checked luggage.
Two models have pages that state both a lock and one-hand opening: the Leatherman Wave Plus and Skeletool. The Wave Plus adds 18 tools and a 25-year warranty. Meanwhile, the Gerber Truss passes the lock test and has spring-loaded pliers for half the price.
Have Any of These Tools Been Recalled?
No model covered here appears in the CPSC recall database. I searched its saferproducts.gov API on October 18, 2026 by product name and by maker. Leatherman has two recalls on file. The Charge Plus and Charge Plus TTi were recalled in July 2025 for a knife blade tip that does not fully retract. The Leap children’s multi-tool was recalled in November 2014 for a knife lock that can release unexpectedly. However, neither is one of the six here. The Gerber knife recalls on file cover knives, machetes and a combo axe from 2007 to 2015. None is a multitool.
What Do Buyers Ask Before Choosing a Multitool?
Can I take a multitool on a plane?
Not in a carry-on if it has a knife. The TSA multi-tools page says multi-tools with knives of any length are prohibited in carry-on bags. They belong in checked bags, and the officer at the checkpoint makes the final call. Every model covered here lists a knife blade, so all of them go in checked luggage.
Does Leatherman cover a multitool I received as a gift?
Leatherman’s page counts 25 years from the date the user receives the tool and covers the original or primary owner. It does not mention gifts, so ask Leatherman before relying on it. Gerber’s page names the original end-user purchaser or giftee. A gift recipient is covered there if the tool came from Gerber or an authorized reseller.
How do I file a warranty claim on a multitool?
Leatherman asks for an online Repair or Replace form with a photo of the whole tool, plus a printed packing slip in the box. You pay to send it in, and Leatherman pays to ship it back. Gerber asks for its warranty claim form and replies with a case number. Keep the product until the claim is approved.
Do Leatherman and Gerber multitools rust?
Leatherman lists 420HC stainless blades and a 420 stainless frame on the Wave Plus, Rebar and Skeletool pages. It still excludes rust and corrosion from the warranty. Stainless steel resists corrosion without being immune. Rinse the tool after salt water or wet work, dry it, and put a drop of oil on the pivots.
Is a Leatherman Multitool Worth Twice the Gerber Price?
I would buy the Leatherman Wave Plus at $129.95 if the multitool will live on my belt for years. Its page states one-hand tool access and a lock on every feature but the pliers. Its 25-year warranty covers the original owner. I would buy the Gerber Truss at $64.99 for 17 tools, spring-loaded pliers and a lock at half the cost. For a drawer or glovebox, the Gerber Suspension-NXT at $54.99 is plenty. For the lightest carry, the Leatherman Skeletool at $89.95 weighs 5 ounces.
Skip the Gerber Center-Drive at $154.99 unless one-thumb opening is the point. It costs more than the Wave Plus, and its page does not say the blade locks. Before gift wrapping anything, check the 30-day return window at the store. None of these goes in a carry-on.
Prices are approximate, current as of publication, and change frequently — confirm the latest price with the retailer before buying.

