Published August 12, 2026. Prices and specs checked September 1, 2026.
For UV wearable shoppers, do you need a $499 clinical-grade sensor to know when to reapply sunscreen, or will a $65 clip-on do the job? UV Sense UV1 ($65) is the budget entry, directly measuring UVA/UVB rather than estimating from a weather app’s UV index. sun-a-wear ($89) adds solar charging so the sensor never needs to be plugged in, with no subscription required. Shade ($499) is a different category — a clinical-grade sensor with a far wider detection range, built for research and clinical use rather than casual sunscreen reminders.
Hours outside on the water under a strong coastal sun make UV exposure something I actually track. So I trust a sensor’s number more than its glow or beep.
Which UV Wearable Should You Buy?
| Pick | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|
| UV Sense UV1 | Cheapest, direct measurement — measures UVA/UVB rather than estimating from location-based UV index data | $65 |
| sun-a-wear | Never needs charging — solar-powered, no subscription, clips to clothing, 9 grams | $89 |
| Shade | Clinical/research-grade precision — detection range of 0.001–60 UVI, currently sold out direct from the manufacturer | $499 |
If You Just Want a Reminder to Reapply Sunscreen
UV Sense UV1 costs $65 and differentiates itself by directly measuring UVA and UVB rays hitting the sensor. That’s rather than estimating exposure from a location-based UV index, the way a weather app does, per its manufacturer. It means the device accounts for real conditions like cloud cover and whether you’re outdoors. Its companion app assesses your skin type through a quick questionnaire and delivers personalized protection recommendations. It also alerts you when you’ve likely reached your maximum safe UV dose for the day. No independent lab test of the current UV1 model’s measurement accuracy was found this session — treat the direct-measurement claim as manufacturer-stated for now.
It’s the pick for casual, budget sunscreen reminders. A pricier UV2 model was listed as waitlist-only with no published price at the time of writing.

If You Never Want to Deal With a Charging Cable
sun-a-wear costs $89 and is built around one standout feature. An integrated solar cell means the sensor never needs to be charged and there’s no battery to replace, according to the manufacturer. Developed and manufactured in Switzerland, it weighs 9 grams and clips directly to your clothing. It tracks UV index and accumulated UV dose, with app notifications for daily UV limits and reapplication reminders. It also connects over Bluetooth Low Energy and supports pairing up to 4 sensors to one app. That’s useful for families. There’s no in-app subscription, and it ships with a 2-year free replacement warranty. It also comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee, both confirmed on the manufacturer’s own product page. No independent long-term test of the solar-charging claim was found this session.
It’s the pick if never touching a charging cable is a genuine priority and more than one household member wants to track exposure.
If You Need Research-Grade Precision, Not a Casual Reminder
Shade costs $499, dramatically more than the other two, and is positioned as a different tier of product entirely. It has a detection range of 0.001 to 60 UVI and is waterproof with wireless charging. It’s also rated for 5 days of battery life per charge, compatible with iOS and Android. Its store page currently lists it as sold out. Shade’s own comparison article cites a peer-reviewed study finding its radiometer accurate to within 20% for more than 80% of measurements in lab testing. That’s a real, sourced accuracy claim, unlike some of the device’s other marketing language (see the table below).
For most people just trying to remember sunscreen, this level of cost and precision isn’t necessary — it fits research applications, clinical dermatology settings, or a documented medical need for precise UV dosimetry.
What Each Brand Claims, and What Holds Up
Marketing copy and a company’s own supporting pages don’t always agree. We checked each brand’s headline claims against its own “about” or research pages and any independent source we could find.
| Claim | Source of claim | What checks out |
|---|---|---|
| “Wearable UV sensor — with the National Cancer Institute” | wearshade.com homepage title | Overstated. Shade’s own company page credits funding from the National Institutes of Health and National Science Foundation, plus academic development at Cornell Tech — not a National Cancer Institute program. |
| “Used by top research hospitals across the world” | store.wearshade.com product page | Unverifiable as stated. Neither Shade’s product page nor its company page names a specific hospital; the company page instead credits Cornell Tech, a university, as where the sensor was developed. |
| “Clinical-grade” accuracy, far outperforming consumer alternatives | store.wearshade.com | Holds up. An independent peer-reviewed comparison cited on Shade’s own site found its radiometer accurate within 20% for over 80% of measurements, versus 8% for a Microsoft Band comparator in the same published test. |
| Solar cell means it “never needs to be charged” | sun-a-wear.us | Unverified, manufacturer-only. No independent long-term test of the claim was found this session. |
| “Directly measures” UVA/UVB rather than estimating from UV index | uvsense.us | Plausible but not independently re-tested. This is the manufacturer’s own framing for the current UV1 model; no third-party lab comparison of it was found this session. |
Side-by-Side Specs
| UV Sense UV1 | sun-a-wear | Shade | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $65 | $89 | $499 |
| Power | Not specified | Solar, never needs charging | Wireless charging, ~5 days/charge |
| Positioning | Budget consumer | Consumer, family-friendly | Clinical/research-grade |
| Subscription required | No | No | No |
| Weight | Not specified | 9g | 0.6 oz (~17g) |
Prices are approximate, current as of publication, and change frequently — confirm the latest price with the retailer before buying.
Which UV Wearable Fits You Best?
After afternoons tracking a strong coastal sun, I’d point a friend without a clinical need toward UV Sense UV1, since direct UVA/UVB measurement beats guessing from a weather app’s index. Choose sun-a-wear instead if never charging a device and tracking multiple family members in one app matters more to you. Shade only makes sense if you have a genuine clinical or research reason for high-precision UV dosimetry — and check current stock first, since it shows sold out on the manufacturer’s own store as of this update.
How We Compared These UV Wearables
This UV wearable comparison relies on each manufacturer’s current site and wearshade.com’s own published research citation. Pricing, specs, and every claim in the table above were checked this month directly against those sources. More on our process is on our editorial standards page.
Prices are approximate, current as of publication, and change frequently — confirm the latest price with the retailer before buying.
UV Wearable Questions
Do UV wearables replace sunscreen?
No. All three devices track UV exposure and remind you to reapply sunscreen or seek shade — none provides any sun protection on its own. They’re monitoring tools, not protective equipment.
Is Shade really connected to the National Cancer Institute?
Not as its homepage implies. Shade’s own company page lists funding from the National Institutes of Health and the National Science Foundation, and credits Cornell Tech for the underlying research — it doesn’t name a National Cancer Institute program.
What’s the cheapest UV wearable here?
UV Sense UV1 at $65, followed by sun-a-wear at $89. Shade, at $499, is priced for clinical and research use, not casual sunscreen reminders.
Which one never needs charging?
sun-a-wear, thanks to its integrated solar cell, according to the manufacturer. UV Sense UV1’s battery details aren’t published, and Shade uses wireless charging rated for about 5 days per charge.
Is Shade’s accuracy claim backed by research, or just marketing?
This one holds up: Shade’s own site cites a peer-reviewed lab comparison where its radiometer was accurate within 20% for over 80% of measurements, well ahead of a Microsoft Band tested in the same study. Not every claim on Shade’s site clears that bar — its National Cancer Institute and “research hospitals” language doesn’t hold up the same way.
Want active cooling for hot days too? See our personal cooling wearables comparison. Browse more in our Wearable Tech category.

