Your Electric Pressure Cooker Holds Less Than It Says

By

·

Four electric pressure cookers lined up side by side on a pale countertop for comparison

Some links on our site may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.

Updated August 2026: each maker’s own manual caps usable capacity well under the number on the box. This page covers the published fill limits, warranty exclusions, wear-part prices, the SharkNinja recall on a different Foodi series, and that two of these four could not be confirmed as still sold by their makers.

The Breville Fast Slow Pro takes this comparison at 80.8 out of 100, and it wins on paperwork rather than cooking. It is the only electric pressure cooker of the four whose maker prints the usable capacity in actual quarts — 4.5 of them, on a machine sold as a six-quart — and the only one whose warranty sends you a prepaid shipping label in both directions. The Ninja Foodi Smart XL finishes last at 41.4 with the largest pot on the page. Read that sentence again, because it is the whole point of this comparison.

  • The pick: Breville Fast Slow Pro, $329.95 at Breville. Clearest limits, best warranty terms, second-best test score.
  • What I would actually buy: Presto 02141, $119.99. See the last section; the tally and my own card disagree here.
  • Best tested score: Instant Pot Duo Plus, 86/100 — if you can find one new.
  • The loser: Ninja Foodi Smart XL. Biggest pot, no published fill fraction, gasket excluded from the warranty, $19.95 to ship a covered repair back to you.

Breville calls it six quarts. Breville’s manual says 4.5.

Every pressure cooker sold has a number on the box and a lower number inside the pot, because a sealed vessel needs headspace and because food that swells needs more of it. Nobody hides this. Nobody puts it in the marketing either.

Breville’s instruction book for the Fast Slow Pro is the plainest document of the four. It gives the MAX level as 4.5 quarts, the middle fill level as 3 quarts, and the minimum as 1 quart, and it says do not fill past the middle level “when cooking foods that expand (such as dried vegetables, beans, grains, rice, etc.).” So the six-quart Breville is a 4.5-quart cooker for a stew and a 3-quart cooker for a pot of beans. Seventy-five percent, then fifty.

MachineNumber on the boxMaker’s general fill limitUsable for a stewUsable for beans, rice, grains
Breville Fast Slow Pro6 qt“MAX level (4.5 quarts)”4.5 qt3.0 qt (stated as “½ level, 3 quarts”)
Instant Pot Duo Plus6 qt“PC MAX — 2/3” line4.0 qt (6 × 2/3)3.0 qt (6 × 1/2)
Ninja Foodi Smart XL8 qtA named “PRESSURE MAX” line, no fraction publishedNot computable“no more than halfway” — see caveat below
Presto 021416 qtNone published that I could findNot computableNot computable

Two of the four numbers in that table are missing, and I am leaving them missing. Presto’s product page carries no fill guidance at all. Ninja marks a line on the pot and names it rather than publishing a fraction, and the “no more than halfway” instruction I can quote comes from a Ninja owner’s guide for the Foodi Deluxe FD400 series, not the Smart XL. Close enough to quote as Ninja’s house language. Not close enough to turn into a quart figure for a machine it does not cover.

Which leaves the eight-quart Ninja as the only cooker here whose real working capacity you cannot establish from its maker’s own documents. On the biggest pot on the page. That is the finding.

Instant Pot prints the fraction on the pot. Ninja prints a word.

The Duo Plus manual is specific in a way that is worth crediting. It says do not fill over the line labelled “PC MAX — 2/3,” and do not fill over the “1/2” line for foods that expand, and then it goes further and names them: applesauce, cranberries, pearl barley, oatmeal, split peas, noodles. That is a company that has read its own support tickets.

Six quarts times two-thirds is four. Six times a half is three. So on the two 6-quart machines with published limits, an Instant Pot and a Breville hold the same 3 quarts of beans, and the Breville holds half a quart more of everything else. For the money involved, that half quart is the smallest thing on this page.

A useful outside check: the specialist site Hip Pressure Cooking has run a consumer alert on fill lines marked too high for pressure programs, giving the safe standard as half full for beans, grains and rice and two-thirds for everything else. It lists the Breville Fast Slow Pro among the correctly marked machines and flags earlier Instant Pot LUX and DUO versions. The article carries no publication date, so date it cautiously.

A stainless steel cooking pot filled with food
A stainless inner pot part-filled with food.

Ninja calls the gasket a wear part. Ninja does not sell you one.

Every one of these machines seals with a silicone ring that stretches, absorbs odours and eventually stops sealing. It is the single part on a pressure cooker most likely to need replacing. So the question is not whether the warranty covers it. It is whether anyone will sell you another one.

MachineWarrantyWear parts excluded?Who pays freight on a covered repairReplacement gasket from the maker
Breville Fast Slow ProLimited, length not stated on the product page“normal wear and tear, corrosion, rust, stain, age”Breville sends a prepaid labelNone found; third-party only
Instant Pot Duo Plus1 year“normal wear and tear”, not itemisedInstant Pot covers return; you pay to send it inFirst-party parts store lists 5&6-qt rings
Ninja Foodi Smart XL1 yearNames them: “removable pot, silicone ring, lids, racks, plates”You ship freight prepaid, plus $19.95 return freightNone found; third-party only
Presto 021411 yearFull terms not retrievableNot stated in what I could reachSealing ring #81572, $10.99

Ninja’s one-year limited warranty excludes “normal wear and tear of wearable parts (including removable pot, silicone ring, lids, racks, plates, etc.).” Those are the parts that wear. That is what the word means. The same document requires you to return the appliance “freight prepaid” and adds that “$19.95 will apply to cover the cost of return freight,” so a covered repair costs you postage twice.

Presto goes the other way and it costs them nothing to do it. The sealing ring is part 81572, $10.99, in stock, fitted to the 0214102 and 0214203 versions of this cooker, and Presto publishes a dealer parts list as a PDF. On a $119.99 machine that is the most generous parts posture in the group by a distance.

Two caveats I owe you. Instant Pot’s parts pages exist and are indexed but refused automated access, so I know the rings are sold and cannot quote the price. And Ninja’s own site was unreachable throughout, so “no first-party gasket found” means exactly that, not that none exists.

Four electric pressure cookers, five axes. The $329.95 one wins.

Price is deliberately not an axis below, and that needs saying out loud. I could confirm a live maker price for only two of these four. Putting a number I could not verify into a weighted score would be fake precision dressed as rigour, so price is handled on its own further down and the tally is built from things every one of the four publishes or fails to publish.

Axis (weight)BrevilleInstant PotPrestoNinja
Usable capacity you can verify from the maker (30%)9.08.02.54.5
Independent test score (20%)8.48.67.58.3
Warranty exclusions and freight (25%)9.06.55.52.5
Wear parts sold by the maker (15%)3.07.010.02.0
Buyable from its maker today (10%)10.03.010.02.0
Weighted total80.871.061.341.4

The weights. Verifiable capacity takes 30 percent because it is the one number that decides whether the machine does the job you bought it for, and because two makers here decline to publish it. Warranty terms take 25 percent because a sealed pressure vessel is a thing you want supported. The independent score takes 20 percent and no more, because it comes from a single outlet and some of it is old. Parts take 15, availability 10.

The test scores are TechGearLab’s, from its lab-tested pressure cooker rankings: Instant Pot Duo Plus 86 and Editors’ Choice, Breville Fast Slow Pro 84, Ninja Foodi Smart XL 83 and the versatility Top Pick, Presto 02141 75 and the outlet’s Best Bang for the Buck. Weighted 35 percent user friendliness, 30 cooking performance, 25 cleaning, 10 features. Worth knowing before you lean on them: the Breville review dates from 2018 and the Presto from 2020, both older than the ranking page that carries them.

Other labs reach other answers, which is the honest state of this category. America’s Test Kitchen’s multicooker testing, updated May 2025, tested the Breville and a Ninja Foodi XL and picked neither, giving its win to the Instant Pot Pro 8-quart and its Best Buy to a Cosori. Consumer Reports, in its January 2026 multi-cooker piece, names the Breville Fast Slow Pro a recommended model and does not evaluate the other three at all. Nobody’s ranking is the ranking.

One of these has a live recall. It is not the one on this page.

In May 2025 the CPSC announced that SharkNinja recalled about 1,846,400 Foodi multi-function pressure cookers in the US because “the pressure-cooking lid can be opened during use, causing hot contents to escape.” A hundred and six burn incidents, more than fifty of them second- or third-degree, and twenty-six lawsuits. The remedy is a free replacement lid.

The models are OP300, OP301, OP301A, OP302 and its variants, OP305, OP305CO and OP350CO. The OL701 Smart XL on this page is not among them, and neither is the OL601. I am naming the recall anyway, at this length, because you are shopping the same brand and the same lid problem, and because a page that recommends a Ninja without mentioning it is not being straight with you.

The others. Breville recalled the BPR600XL in December 2015, about 35,600 units, because the sealing gasket could be fitted upside down and release built-up pressure; five burn incidents including second-degree burns. The BPR700 Fast Slow Pro recommended here is the successor to that machine and is not covered. Instant Pot has two historical recalls, a 2015 shock hazard on the Smart series and a 2018 CPSC fire-hazard recall covering about 104,000 Gem 65 multicookers; the Duo Plus is not covered by either. Presto’s only current recall notice is for an indoor electric smoker, not a pressure cooker.

One limit on that sweep, stated plainly: the CPSC’s recall search endpoint refuses automated queries, so these came from targeted searching and individual recall pages rather than a complete database query.

Two makers still sell you the cooker. Two I could not confirm.

Breville lists the Fast Slow Pro at $329.95 with a live add-to-cart and no discontinued notice. Presto lists this cooker, whose full name is the 6-quart Programmable Electric Pressure Cooker Plus, at $119.99 in stock. Those two I can stand behind.

The other two are a problem. Instant Pot’s own store refuses automated access, so I went to retail and found Best Buy showing the Duo Plus at $139.99 with the notice “this item is no longer available in new condition,” and Target out of stock with no price displayed. Ninja is worse: the OL701’s product URL on Ninja’s own site returns a 302 redirect to the SharkNinja corporate homepage. Not a product page. Not a successor. The corporate front door.

Prices are approximate, current as of publication, and change frequently — confirm the latest price with the retailer before buying.

None of that proves either machine is discontinued. Blocked pages are a research failure, not a corporate announcement, and I have said so in the tally rather than pretending otherwise. But if you are about to spend on the Duo Plus because a review site called it the best, check that you can actually buy one new before you get attached.

Breville Fast Slow Pro: the clearest label, the highest price.

84 out of 100 at TechGearLab, a recommendation from Consumer Reports, and the best documentation in this comparison. It vents steam automatically at the end of a cook, which removes the one genuinely unpleasant moment in pressure cooking. Breville’s warranty sends a prepaid label in both directions and does not name gaskets as an exclusion.

A hearty meat stew cooking in a pot
A stew simmering in a covered pot.

Two soft spots. Breville’s warranty page tells you to check the product page for your model’s term, and the Fast Slow Pro product page does not state one, which is a documentation gap on Breville’s side rather than a bad warranty. And owner reviews on Macy’s, 365 of them at 4.3 out of 5, carry a durability cluster the other three do not: units failing inside two years, recurring lid-seal errors, a ceramic coating that chips. That is aggregated owner reporting from one retailer, not a measurement, and it sits oddly against the outlet ratings. I am reporting both rather than choosing.

Skip this if $329.95 has to justify itself against a $119.99 machine that cooks the same beans. On the pure job of applying pressure to food, it does not.

Instant Pot Duo Plus: the best test score, the hardest to buy.

86 out of 100, the top score in TechGearLab’s field and its Editors’ Choice, with the highest user-friendliness sub-score of the group. The stainless inner pot has no coating to protect and can go on a stovetop or into an oven, so one vessel sears, pressure cooks and finishes. Four thousand-odd words of pressure cooker marketing rarely mention that, and it is the most useful design decision on any machine here.

Owner reports are the thickest of the four and they diverge by retailer, which is itself worth knowing: 4.7 out of 5 across 761 reviews at Best Buy, with ease of use cited 247 times and cooking performance 165, against 4.3 across 368 ratings at Walmart where eleven percent are one star and the recurring complaints are food sticking in the bare stainless pot and unanswered customer service. Both are real. Neither is testing.

Skip this if you want it this week. Two major retailers are not selling it new and the maker’s store would not tell me anything.

Presto 02141: the cheapest gasket, the thinnest documentation.

$119.99 at Presto, $113.95 at Home Depot, 75 out of 100 and the Best Bang for the Buck award. It runs 9 PSI on high against the roughly 11.6 PSI typical of an Instant Pot, so it is a slower machine, and it has a nonstick removable pot that releases stuck rice more easily than bare stainless and will eventually wear in a way stainless does not.

It scores 2.5 on the capacity axis for one reason: Presto publishes no fill limit I could find, on the product page or anywhere else. The gasket is $10.99 and there is a public parts list. The fill line is a mystery. Odd company.

Skip this if you cook from the sauté function daily, or you want the eleven lab points that separate it from the Duo Plus. Those points are refinement, and refinement is what $119.99 buys you less of.

Ninja Foodi Smart XL: the biggest pot, the smallest promise.

The Ninja is the only machine here that genuinely air fries, it scored 83 and took TechGearLab’s versatility pick, and its wide 8-quart pot takes a whole chicken more gracefully than a tall 6-quart. If you would otherwise buy a pressure cooker and an air fryer, its price should be measured against both.

Everything else about it goes the wrong way. No published fill fraction. Silicone ring and inner pot named as excluded wear parts. Freight both directions on a covered repair. No maker gasket I could find. A product URL that redirects to a corporate homepage. And Homes & Gardens’ reviewer, in a head-to-head with an Instant Pot Pro Crisp, reported the hinged SmartLid “wouldn’t fit under our kitchen cabinets” when fully extended. Ninja publishes no lid-open height, so measure your own clearance before you buy; that dimension is simply not published. That review compared an 11-in-1 SmartLid Foodi rather than this exact model, and its conclusion still lands: for traditional pressure cooking, “the Instant Pot will be your best bet.”

Skip this if you already own an air fryer you like. Strip the crisping away and you are left with the weakest documentation and the harshest warranty in this group, on the largest pot.

The tally says Breville. My own card says Presto.

The Ledger above is built on disclosure and support, and on those terms the Breville deserves its 80.8. I would still buy the Presto.

Here is the reasoning, and you are free to reject it. The Breville costs $210 more than the Presto. Both cook beans under pressure. The Breville’s advantages are automatic venting, better documentation, a prepaid warranty label and eleven points of tested refinement. The Presto’s advantage is that when the ring goes, a named part with a stock number costs $10.99 and arrives, which is the thing that actually determines whether a cheap appliance stays in the cupboard or goes in the bin. On a machine at this price, that matters more to me than the venting.

If the Breville’s Macy’s durability reports were absent, I would change my mind. They are not absent, and it is the most expensive machine here.

Measure your recipe, not your cooker.

Go and find the fill line inside whichever pot you already own, then look at the volume your usual bean recipe makes. If the second number is bigger than the first, the machine on your counter is smaller than you have been treating it. That check costs nothing and it is the only one on this page you can run tonight.

Nothing here rests on our own use of these machines. Every measurement belongs to the lab named beside it, every fill limit to the manual it is quoted from, and every price to the store it was read off on 30 August 2026. How we handle sourcing is set out on our editorial standards page.

If the real question is whether you want a pressure cooker at all, the slow cooker, pressure cooker and sheet-pan comparison settles that first. For daily rice, a dedicated machine still wins and the rice cooker comparison shows by how much. Crisping is covered in the air fryer comparison, and the rest is in Kitchen & Cooking.