Some links on our site may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.
A note on safety features: GPS watches, SOS buttons, and location alerts are helpful tools, but no device replaces adult supervision or a family safety plan. Follow the manufacturer’s setup guidance for emergency features and test them together with your child.
Published July 21, 2026. Prices and specs checked September 2, 2026.
Every kids smartwatch here hides most of its real price in the monthly plan, so the sticker tells you almost nothing. Run the two-year math instead and the Verizon Gizmo Watch 3 Adventure is the cheapest to own by a wide margin, the Bark Watch is the most complete package for kids 9 and up at the highest price, the Cosmo JrTrack 5 SE is the pick for younger kids who want a camera, and the Gabb Watch 3e stays the distraction-free option, with one gap parents should know before buying.
Prices are approximate, current as of publication, and change frequently — confirm the latest price with the retailer before buying.
Did Cosmo Replace the JrTrack 5 With the SE?
Cosmo’s own site now sells the original JrTrack 5 mainly as certified-refurbished stock — $79.99, marked down from $129.99, flagged as limited availability. New buyers are steered toward the JrTrack 5 SE at the same $129.99 list price. Cosmo’s own product page describes the SE as “the same great hardware, with a brand new, fully-updated app experience” running on Cosmo’s redesigned parent platform — a software generation change on the same device, not a new watch. Existing JrTrack 5 owners can update to the new app via firmware update rather than needing to buy the SE. Because a shopper today is more likely to end up with the SE than a new original JrTrack 5, the SE is the Cosmo watch scored below.
| Attribute | Bark Watch | Gizmo Watch 3 Adventure | Cosmo JrTrack 5 SE | Gabb Watch 3e |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Age range | 9–14 | 6–12 | 5–12 | 5–14 |
| Device cost | $0 ($12/mo × 24) | $99.99 | $129.99 (list) | $149.99 |
| Monthly plan | $15 | $10 | $9.99–$19.99 | $12.99–$17.99 |
| Activation fee | Not stated | Not shown on Verizon’s current listing | $14.99 | Not stated on gabb.com |
| Contacts allowed | Unlimited | 20 | 100 | 100 |
| Camera | None | None | Front-facing (photo and video) | None |
| 911 capability | Yes | SOS to contacts | Yes | No 911 option |
What Does a Kids Smartwatch Cost Over Two Years?
A kids smartwatch is a subscription with a screen attached — over a typical two-year run, the plan costs from about 1.25 to more than 3 times the hardware. This table totals device, activation where stated, and 24 months of service using each brand’s own current listings, taking each plan’s published range where one exists.
| Watch | Device + fees | 24 months of service | Two-year total | Effective monthly |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gizmo Watch 3 Adventure | $99.99 | $240 | $339.99 | ~$14.17 |
| Cosmo JrTrack 5 SE (2-year plan) | $144.98 ($129.99 + $14.99) | $239.76 | $384.74 | ~$16.03 |
| Gabb Watch 3e (2-year plan) | $149.99 | $311.76 | $461.75 | ~$19.24 |
| Gabb Watch 3e (no-contract plan) | $149.99 | $431.76 | $581.75 | ~$24.24 |
| Cosmo JrTrack 5 SE (no-commitment plan) | $144.98 | $479.76 | $624.74 | ~$26.03 |
| Bark Watch | $288 (financed $12 × 24) | $360 | $648 | $27.00 |
The Gizmo’s win is structural: Verizon’s $10 line price undercuts every dedicated kids-watch plan, and its $99.99 device cost is the lowest upfront number here too — no activation fee currently shown on Verizon’s own listing, though carrier fees can still appear at checkout and are worth confirming directly. Bark is the most expensive path at $648 over two years, a direct result of its $12-a-month device financing; Cosmo’s committed 2-year plan is the second-cheapest total here, but its no-commitment tier is the second-priciest line in the table.
Kids Smartwatch Battery Life: Claimed vs Tested
Advertised battery numbers on kids watches run in both directions. In SafeWise’s published testing, the Bark Watch nearly doubled its own claim while the Gizmo delivered about half of its headline figure — and the two landed on the same real-world number.
| Watch | Advertised battery | Tested battery (SafeWise) | Delivered vs. claim |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bark Watch | 24 hours | 43 hours | 179% |
| Gabb Watch 3e | 24 hours | 34 hours | 142% |
| Cosmo JrTrack 5 | 24 hours | 29 hours | 121% |
| Gizmo Watch 3 Adventure | 86 hours | 43 hours | 50% |
The Cosmo figure above is from SafeWise’s JrTrack 5 review and predates the SE’s software update, so treat it as the best available proxy rather than a confirmed SE number — Cosmo’s own materials don’t publish a separately tested SE battery figure. Every watch here survives a school day with margin, and the Bark and Gizmo will usually survive two. Charge nightly anyway; the failure mode that matters isn’t day two, it’s a dead watch at pickup time.
Bark Watch: The Most Watch, for the Oldest Kids
The Bark Watch behaves more like a phone alternative than a tracker with buttons: unlimited contacts, voice and text messaging, 911 capability, school mode, and remote shutdown. It also tied the Gizmo for the best tested battery life of the group at 43 hours.

It’s built for ages 9–14 and feels that way — no games at all, which is a feature for parents and a bug for an eight-year-old. There’s no video calling, and Bark’s device financing is the reason it’s the most expensive watch in this comparison at $27 a month all-in. Bark’s own page also states the watch has no camera.
Skip this if: your child is under 9, or the $648 two-year total is the deciding factor. The Gabb Watch 3e costs less at every tier if price matters more than the feature set.
Gizmo Watch 3 Adventure: The Budget Answer, With a Carrier Catch
If you’re already a Verizon household, the Gizmo is the value play and it isn’t close — $339.99 over two years, a durable Adventure casing, educational games, school mode, and an audio drop-in feature that lets a parent listen in when a call goes unanswered.
Twenty contacts is the tightest list here, there’s no camera on the Adventure model, and the 86-hour battery claim is marketing — plan on the same 43 real hours the Bark delivers. The bigger catch is the carrier lock: this is a Verizon product, so families on other carriers should price in a new Verizon line before assuming this is the budget option.
Skip this if: you’re not on Verizon and don’t plan to be. The $339.99 total assumes you already have or are willing to add a Verizon line; a new line changes the math considerably.
Cosmo JrTrack 5 SE: The Sweet Spot for the 5–12 Crowd
The JrTrack 5 SE covers the widest useful age range of the four. Younger kids get a simple call-and-track device with an SOS button and 911 capability; older kids grow into the front-facing camera, music streaming, talk-to-text, and optional learning apps. A 100-contact list gives families room the Gizmo can’t match.

Plan tiers span $9.99 to $19.99 a month depending on commitment length, and the no-commitment tier is the second-most expensive option in this comparison — pick the 2-year membership unless month-to-month flexibility is worth the premium. There’s a $14.99 activation fee, no video calling, and the only tested battery figure available is from the pre-SE hardware.
Skip this if: you want a battery figure tested on the exact current software. The number available here predates Cosmo’s app update.
Gabb Watch 3e: Minimalist by Design, With One Real Gap
Gabb’s whole pitch is less: no camera, no internet, no app store, and a virtual pet that rewards steps as the lone entertainment. For families whose goal is a device the child forgets about between calls, that restraint is the product, and school mode plus safe zones round out the parental controls.
The gap is real, though: the Gabb Watch 3e has no 911 dialing option — its SOS button alerts approved contacts instead — and it isn’t the budget pick its simplicity implies. At $461.75 to $581.75 over two years, it costs more than the Gizmo and the committed Cosmo, though less than the Bark at either tier. Buy it for the philosophy, not the price.
Skip this if: direct 911 dialing from the watch is a requirement rather than a nice-to-have. Bark and Cosmo both offer it; Gabb does not.
Which Kids Smartwatch Should You Buy?
Three questions settle it. First, age: under 9 points to Cosmo or Gizmo, 9 and up opens the Bark. Second, carrier: an existing Verizon plan makes the Gizmo’s two-year math very hard to beat. Third, philosophy on features: if a camera and photo texting sound like the start of an argument, Gabb built its watch for that; if they sound like how a kid will actually use the thing, Cosmo is the only camera watch here. What shouldn’t decide it: advertised battery life, per the honesty-gap table above, or upfront price, which the two-year table shows is the least informative number on the page.
If nothing above points to a specific need, the Gabb Watch 3e is the one I’d rule out first: it costs more over two years than the Gizmo and the committed Cosmo, and gives up direct 911 dialing to get there. Its distraction-free pitch is real and worth paying for on purpose — it’s a bad default for a family that hasn’t already decided that’s what they want.
Outfitting a kid for the school year is a system, not one gadget — see our kids tablet comparison, our volume-limited kids headphones comparison, and our kids scooter guide by age.

