Some links on our site may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more.
Published July 11, 2026. Prices and specs checked September 8, 2026.
The KitchenAid Artisan KSM150PS takes this comparison at 70.7 points out of 100. Cuisinart’s Precision Master SM-50NAS finishes second at 61.5, and the Hamilton Beach 63390 comes last at 59.0. The KitchenAid wins on the one thing you cannot buy back later. It is the only machine here that an independent lab has tested. That test used the exact model number you can put in a cart today. It is also the most expensive. That’s $399.99 on KitchenAid’s own store and $499.99 at Best Buy on the same day. Stand mixer wattage is the number all three lead with. It turns out to be the least comparable figure on the box.
I’ve replaced enough small-appliance parts over the years to check whether a part ships before I buy the machine. Warranty length matters less to me than who pays the shipping when something breaks. Humid coastal air is hard on small motors, so I read the fine print before it’s mine.
Prices are approximate, current as of publication, and change frequently — confirm the latest price with the retailer before buying.
Which Stand Mixer Wattage Number Has a Stated Basis?
Every one of these mixers leads with a wattage figure. None of the three makers says what the figure measures.
| What the maker prints | Where it prints it | Input, output or peak? | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|
| KitchenAid, “325 watts” | KitchenAid’s tilt-head comparison page and the KSM150PS spec sheet. The owner’s manual does not print it at all — it says the rating is on a tag under the mixer base | Not stated anywhere | Unqualified. No horsepower figure and no torque figure published either |
| Cuisinart, “500-watt motor” | The SM-50NAS product page | Not stated | Unqualified. 54 percent higher than KitchenAid’s number, on the machine an independent test found struggling under load |
| Hamilton Beach, “300 watts” | The 63390 product page, and the Use and Care guide, which prints “120V ~ 60 Hz 300 W” on the electrical nameplate line | Nameplate rating, so an input figure | The only one of the three tied to a stated basis |
Do the division: 500 ÷ 325 = 1.54. Cuisinart’s number is 54 percent bigger than KitchenAid’s. That gap would mean something if the two figures were measured the same way. There is no evidence they were. Neither maker says whether the number is drawn at the wall or delivered at the beater. And neither publishes a torque figure, which is the number that would settle it.
Hamilton Beach comes out best on this one row, which is not the same as coming out best. A nameplate rating is an input rating. It tells you what the machine draws, not what it delivers. But it is a stated basis, and the other two publish none.
Companies don’t exactly lie here. They print a number with no units of meaning attached and let you assume it scales.
If Stand Mixer Wattage Won’t Tell You Capacity, What Will?
The second claim on every box is capacity. Five quarts. Five and a half. Four. Those are bowl volumes, and a bowl volume does not tell you how much dough the motor will move.
So I went looking for the number that would answer it: a published maximum flour weight or dough batch. That is the figure the manual would give you if the maker wanted you to know where the limit sits. It is not there. The KitchenAid KSM150PS owner’s manual does not have it, and neither does its spec sheet. It is not on the Cuisinart product page or in the Precision Master manual. And it is not in the Hamilton Beach 63390 Use and Care guide.
What you get instead is marketing arithmetic. KitchenAid expresses the Artisan’s capacity as “up to 9 dozen cookies in a single batch.” Its 4.5-quart Classic is rated up to 8 dozen. Cookies are not a unit. Cuisinart publishes nothing at all.
Hamilton Beach is the strange one. Its manual publishes a minimum and no maximum. The 63390 “is designed to whisk a minimum of 2 large egg whites or 1 cup (237 ml) of cream.” That is a real, checkable operating limit. It is at the wrong end.
You might be buying a mixer to knead bread. No maker in this group will tell you in writing how much it will knead. Plan accordingly, and treat every “handles heavy dough” line as the unsupported claim it is.
How Is Each Stand Mixer Scored in This Ledger?
Five axes, weighted for a machine you expect to keep. Here is why each weight is what it is.
Lab result on the exact model, 25 percent. A test of a different suffix is not a test of what you can buy. As the next section shows, that distinction eliminates most of the testing in this category. Parts the maker will sell you, 20 percent. A mixer that cannot be repaired is a mixer you replace. Price, 25 percent, scored as cheapest divided by this one, times ten. Warranty cost to you, 15 percent — the length matters less than who pays the freight. Bowl capacity, 15 percent, is scored against the largest bowl here. Quarts are at least a number all three publish.
| Axis (weight) | KitchenAid KSM150PS | Cuisinart SM-50NAS | Hamilton Beach 63390 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lab result, exact model (25) | 10 — Consumer Reports tested the KSM150PS and rated whipping, mixing and kneading Excellent | 4 — no lab tested the NAS; the SM-50 that was tested was reported struggling with heavy loads | 5 — no lab tested the 63390; a sibling model did well |
| Parts the maker sells (20) | 6 — no drive parts on KitchenAid’s own site; buyers routed to an outside parts operator | 8 — seven named parts with prices on Cuisinart’s own store, five in stock | 3 — the parts search returned nothing for the 63390 on 30 August |
| Price (25) | 3.2 — $399.99 | 4.0 — $319.95 | 10.0 — $126.99 |
| Warranty cost to you (15) | 8 — one year, replacement delivered and collected free | 7 — three years, but you enclose $10 | 3 — one year, you pay freight both directions |
| Bowl capacity (15) | 9.1 — 5.0 qt | 10 — 5.5 qt | 7.3 — 4.0 qt |
| Tally | 70.7 | 61.5 | 59.0 |
Can You Check the Price Math Yourself?
The arithmetic on price, so you can check it: $126.99 ÷ $399.99 = 0.317, times ten is 3.2 for the KitchenAid. $126.99 ÷ $319.95 = 0.397, or 4.0 for the Cuisinart. The Hamilton Beach is the cheapest, so it scores 10. Bowls work the same way against the 5.5-quart Cuisinart: 5.0 ÷ 5.5 = 0.91, and 4.0 ÷ 5.5 = 0.73.
Disagree with a weight and re-run it. Drop the lab axis to 10 percent and raise price to 40, and the Hamilton Beach wins outright. That is a defensible thing to believe if you make cookies twice a year. It also assumes you do not care whether anyone has ever measured this machine.
Does Stand Mixer Wattage Matter Less Than Lab Testing?
This is the finding that moved the verdict. It took reading the model numbers in the test rosters, not the brand names.
| On sale today | Model the lab actually tested | Same machine? |
|---|---|---|
| KitchenAid KSM150PS | Consumer Reports tested the KSM150PS. America’s Test Kitchen lists “KSM150” | Yes |
| Cuisinart SM-50NAS | America’s Test Kitchen tested the SM-50R. Reviewed tested the SM-50 | No — both are variants Cuisinart’s own store now shows as discontinued |
| Hamilton Beach 63390 | America’s Test Kitchen tested the 63393. Reviewed tested the 63391 and the 63232 | No |
Consumer Reports publishes word grades rather than open numbers on its KitchenAid Artisan KSM150PS page, and the grades it shows without a membership are Excellent for whipping cream, Excellent for mixing chocolate cookie dough, Excellent for kneading bread dough, and Good for noise. Its numeric scores sit behind the paywall, so those four words are the whole of what is publicly checkable.
America’s Test Kitchen’s stand mixer review names fourteen machines by model number. It gives the win to the Ankarsrum Assistent Original AKM 6230, with KitchenAid’s bowl-lift KSM70SNDXBM as runner-up. Neither the Cuisinart nor the Hamilton Beach in this comparison is in that roster by the number you would buy.
Reviewed’s roundup of KitchenAid alternatives put the Cuisinart SM-50 third. The review called it very easy to use, but noted it “struggle[s] with heavy load,” according to Reviewed. It also made a Hamilton Beach — the 63391 — its best overall in that field. That machine “created the loftiest egg whites in the fastest time,” Reviewed found. Neither of those model numbers is what the maker sells you now.
Every measurement above belongs to the outlet named beside it.
What Does Each Maker Sell You When a Gear Strips?
Cuisinart is the surprise here. Its own store lists seven Precision Master parts with real part numbers and real prices. Those include the 5.5-quart bowl SM-50MB-1 at $48.95 and the mixing paddle SM-50MPNAS at $15.95. They also include the splash guard and pour spout at $8.95 each, and a port cover at $20.95. Two of the seven, including the whisk at $28.95, were out of stock on 30 August. All seven are wear items. No internal drive part is offered.
KitchenAid is the opposite shape. Its own stand-mixer parts page returns sixteen results — hub covers, thumb screws, feet, bowl lids, grinder plates. None of them is a gear. No price rendered on any of them on the day I checked. Its replacement-parts page sends you to kitchenaidparts.com. That site’s own footer says it is powered by RepairClinic and operated by RepairClinic, Inc. The worm follower gear, part W11086780, is the part that strips when a KitchenAid stops turning. It is buyable. The same OEM number ran $14.04 at kitchenaidparts.com, $26.82 at PartSelect and $27.01 at eReplacementParts on the same day. A 92 percent spread on one part number.
I could not find any manufacturer statement of what that gear is made of. Retail listings describe it two different ways, and neither is a KitchenAid document. So I am not going to tell you it is nylon or brass. What is verifiable is that it is sold as a serviceable part, cheaply, by several sellers. That is also the closest thing to a repair path any of the three offers.
What About Hamilton Beach’s Own Parts Search?
Hamilton Beach runs a parts search by model number. It returned nothing for the 63390 across three attempts on 30 August. The page invites you to phone customer service instead. I am not going to conclude from that that the parts do not exist. I will say I could not buy one, which is the same problem from the buyer’s side. Repairability is worth a broader look. Our comparison of which 4-slice toaster can actually be repaired found a brand marketing repairability. That brand’s US store sold no spares at all.
Is the Cuisinart on Sale the Same One That Was Tested?
Cuisinart’s own store shows the SM-50 as discontinued and out of stock. The SM-50BC is discontinued and out of stock too. The SM-50NAS, at $319.95, is the only Precision Master live on the maker’s site.
Home Depot, Target and Best Buy were all still listing the SM-50BC at $319.95 on 30 August. Best Buy attaches its own note that the item is no longer available in new condition. Target also carried a certified refurbished unit at $222.99. That is channel inventory of a SKU the maker has retired, sold at the price of a current one.
Buy the NAS. It is what Cuisinart will warranty, and it is the one whose parts list is live. The same trap runs through this category. We hit it again working out how much your electric pressure cooker really holds. A product URL there redirected to a corporate homepage.
Is Any Stand Mixer Here Under Recall?
I searched the Consumer Product Safety Commission’s recall records for each of the three brands. No open recall exists on a KitchenAid, Cuisinart or Hamilton Beach stand mixer. The CPSC’s own recall search resists automated queries, so treat this as a thorough search rather than a database sweep.
Two things worth knowing anyway. A KitchenAid stand mixer recall story circulates periodically and is false; Snopes has run it down. And the only Hamilton Beach mixer recall on file is from 15 January 1992. It covered roughly 600,000 hand mixers — models 230 and 232. About 15 reports described internal fan blades breaking and contaminating food, and several allegedly caused minor mouth and tooth injuries. Hand mixers. Hamilton Beach’s own recall page says the same thing and confirms stand mixers were never involved.
Where Is Each Machine the Wrong Buy?
Skip the KitchenAid KSM150PS if you bake a few times a year. You are paying $273 more than the Hamilton Beach. That buys a one-year warranty and a lab result you will never test the limits of. Also skip it if you were going to buy it at Best Buy without checking KitchenAid’s own store first. That was a $100 difference on 30 August, on the same machine.
Skip the Cuisinart SM-50NAS if heavy bread dough is the reason you are buying. The only independent read on this machine’s near-relative reported it struggling under load. Cuisinart publishes no capacity guidance to argue with that. Its three-year warranty is the longest here, and it costs you $10 to use.
Skip the Hamilton Beach 63390 if you ever intend to fix it. One-year warranty, freight both ways at your cost. I could not get a single replacement part to come up under that model number. At $126.99 that is a rational trade. It is still the trade you are making. More kitchen comparisons run the same way in our Kitchen & Cooking section.
What Mattered More Than Stand Mixer Wattage in the End?
After checking how many small-appliance repairs end with a part nobody sells anymore, I’d buy the KitchenAid Artisan KSM150PS, since it’s the only one an independent lab has tested. That is the tally’s pick too, with one change: buy it from KitchenAid’s own store, not Best Buy. Its own storefront showed $399.99 against Best Buy’s $499.99 for the same Artisan on the same day. That is the single biggest number in this entire comparison and it has nothing to do with the machine.
The one machine here I think is genuinely underrated is not in the ledger at all. Hamilton Beach’s 63240 Professional is a 5-quart all-metal mixer at $279.99 on Hamilton Beach’s own store. It carries a five-year limited warranty against KitchenAid’s one-year term. That is a real argument at $120 less. It is undercut by the same freight terms: you ship it there and back yourself. And no lab in this research tested it either. If the five-year term matters more to you than the shipping does, it is the smarter buy. It beats the 63390 I ranked last.
There is one caveat: the Cuisinart SM-50BC page and the Hamilton Beach 63240 page both carry a shipping note. Neither can be shipped to Colorado, Maine or Minnesota. I did not establish why, and I am not going to guess.

